2017-18 Budget Passes as 2016-17 School Year comes to a close

posted Jun 22, 2017, 5:04 AM by Andrew Dolloff
The FY18 School Budget was passed by the voters of Yarmouth by a nearly 3-1 margin on June 13,  with nearly 2000 voters showing up at the polls.  Elected to the Yarmouth School Committee in uncontested elections were incumbent Philip Jones and newcomer Sarah Day.  Sarah replaces Margaret Groban, who expertly served the schools for six years as a  dedicated and knowledgeable member of the School Committee.  Elections were held just a week prior to the end of the 2016-17 school year, which drew to a close on Wednesday, June 21.  Although we say goodbye to 120 graduated seniors, 8 retirees, and a handful of other employees who will be moving on to new challenges, we look forward to welcoming many new staff members and more than 1,600 students in the fall!